The oxymoron called “Religious Thinker”

The oxymoron called “Religious Thinker”


Yeah, that’s right. This is what I saw going around in a forum where a christian could not speak his mind because his atheist audience would not let him speak since they believed that a person being “religious” can not “freely” think as well.

This reminded me of the classic “No true Scotsman fallacy”.

Alice: All Scotsmen enjoy haggis.
Bob: My uncle is a Scotsman, and he doesn’t like haggis!
Alice: Well, all true Scotsmen like haggis.

(the above example was taken from Wikipedia)

So there it is, if a person is really a free thinker, he can’t be religious, because all true free thinkers are non-religious? I wonder how true that claim is? And the problem is it all depends on the definition of the term “free thinker” and that varies. But I admit its a good line to have your opponent shut up because now you are attacking him rather than his argument. Its mean but with enough people around to chant behind you, you can get the job done and have your opponent quit trying to explain.

This is a logical fallacy. Religion, irrespective of whether it is true or not, was mankind’s first attempt at explaining the unknown.

This kind of debate tactic is below the belt and it discredits the person rather than his argument. I mean I get it that some atheists are really mad at religion. Some of them may even have a reason to behave like this. But lately I have also found the same close mindedness in the so called free thinking atheists as well, the same close mindedness they accuse  religious people of having.

Now don’t get me wrong, I know Christians dumber than dumb and I can say that I know atheists that fit the same discription as well. So is it really fair to sweep the brush and paint everyone the same way? consider the following:

Alice: All atheists are close minded.
Bob: I am an atheist, and I am not close minded!
Alice: Well, all true atheists are close minded.

If you are an atheist and you’re reading this, does that sound nice? I am sure it doesn’t. And this is exactly my point this is an unfair way to treat people with such broad generalizations. This is nothing to do with morality, religion and what not. It is simple manners. And if you are using this tactic because you saw a Christian or an atheist using this tactic against you or a fellow and you are angry and you do not give damn about anyone,  so what? two wrongs do not make a right.

I don’t care who you are, atheist, christian, agnostic, gay, straight, Mormon, Muslim whatever, if you are making opinions about others before you hear what they have to say, you are a fool.

3 thoughts on “The oxymoron called “Religious Thinker”

  1. Yea John ur rite I mean if someone is here just to vent out his/her ignorance then this is the best way to do it, kill the argument even before it begins.my advice to all Christians who try to prove their faith to such people is that its just a waste of time and effort. Such people are not here to actually learn anything, its just a way to humiliate others. PEople should learn some manners before coming to forums and talk.

  2. In my online “discussions,” I often find myself using the following quote by John Stott:

    “It is well known that when a debate cannot be won by reasoning, controversialists are prone to descend to personal abuse. If arguments are lacking, mud is a good substitute.”

    I have even had to train myself not to use the tactic of attacking the person instead of the argument. As Ravi Zacharias says, “What you win them with is what you win them to.” As Christians, we will be rightfully held to a higher standard, and we cannot imitate the Sam Harris’ and Richard Dawkins’ of the world.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment. Thank you.

