23 thoughts on “The Earth is young but it just looks old: Why Genesis days are not 24-hour days – part 2

  1. Go to YouTube type in. Earth is 6000 years old. Its 26 minutes long. Its how scientific studies on the age of the earth… well you will see. let me know what u think after u watch it!

    1. I am sorry but because of the anti-muslim film, youtube has been banned in Pakistan temporarily so I can not watch it.

      However I have seen lots of debates on both sides including those who try to disapprove scientific evidence as just bogus. Not sure if this is different, if you can post a link I may well be able to watch it when I have youtube.

      Thanks for suggesting it. 🙂

  2. @”I would humble ask you to not only rely on your English Bibles but also science, common sense, physical evidence and proper context of scriptures to understand these things.”
    …………..

    unless God gives the measurement, we can only measure as far as that.

    in other words, man’s greatest telescope can only see as far as the light from the sun has travelled.

    our finite mind, can only understand what is has been made to contain. it can reach its full capacity, but no more.

    and yes, i agree with you. most christians read the bible and treat it like a ‘sacred’ appliance. they take one verse and makes a doctrine out of it. forgetting common sense and rejecting context.

    definitely! “all things were created and made for Jesus and by Jesus” – Colossians 1:16
    so all things -> including common sense and science. was made for Jesus.

    – grace and peace

  3. Thanks Rollie for reading. I am saying nothing else than what you have written only that to make science and Bible as opponents we are just widening the gap of intellectualism.

    I believe God made our universe and others too if they are present. I just do not agree that it was done in 6000 years when there is heaps of evidence to suggest otherwise.

    God bless you bro.

  4. It just occurred to me that you are the one visiting my site from Pakistan, that should have been obvious to me but it was not. I am praying for your safety in these crazy times my brother.

    I just want to make a comment about relying on science and observation, remember that “science” also says that we came from Monkeys, so how do you decide what is good science and what is not?

    If God created Adam as an Adult, He would HAVE to create the earth old as well, otherwise what would Adam eat?

    1. By the way, I am not advocating for a creation without God. I am simply saying that I find the YEC model highly unlikely.

      Or, God made Adam, at a time when the earth had matured to a point where Man could live and eat 😉

      On a side note, science does not say we came from monkeys. They say that apes and humans had a common ancestor. That ancestor was not a monkey or ape 🙂

      1. I find it unlikely that we had a common ancestor with apes. Just like you have said that people read genesis and read things that aren’t there to fit into their world view, does science not do the same thing? There is no evidence of a common ancestor, this is just considered to be fact because science is right because the bible must be wrong. It’s the same as how some say the bible is right because science must be wrong.

        In fact, what the fossil record shows is that species come out of nowhere and then disappear into thin air. Science says that there must be links that cause one species to become another even though this is impossible and has never been observed. Life forms exist with a limited amount of genes, they cannot make new genes and become something else. They can switch genes on and off in order to adapt to their environment, but a bird that grows a longer beak or more feathers is still a bird. It will never be a fish or a lizard or an elephant and I find it curious that we have found millions of fossils, yet we have not found a single one of these missing links. People just say “well, we’ll find them eventually, they must be there”, but how likely is it that we haven’t found a single one out of millions? The reason none have been found is because they don’t exist and this disproves Darwin’s theory right away. Even he said that if these missing links were never found, his theory would fall apart at the seams.

        Fact is, people treat things like evolution as fact even though there is no evidence, only that it must be true because creationism is false. This is not good science, it’s biased. Furthermore, we did not know the carbon levels in the atmosphere more than 10 thousand or so years ago, so how can accurate figures be discovered if you don’t have a base level of carbon for that time period? It’s all guess work. It’s hard to know what is true and what isn’t, there is bias everywhere even in science and especially in any area that could disprove God. None of it can be proven or disproven.

        1. Furthermore, there is also some evidence to the theory that the universe is holographic and not infinite at all, but just an illusion. There is also a theory that we are all living in a computer simulation. A scientist discovered computer code hidden in superstring equations; in other words, in space. It is the same exact computer code used in web browsers. Just something to think about. I personally believe there is validity to both.

  5. John,

    I’m curious how do you account for the substantial amount of Biblical evidence that would stand contradictory to your view of the length of creation. Scripture seems to be a lot less vague on this issue then people assume.

    For instance. Out of all the Hebrew words that could have been used to describe a day as an age of time, the author used the only Hebrew word that could be used to mean a literal 24 hour day.

    If the days are really ages, the n how long was God’s age of “rest” is He still resting now?

    How would you handle other Scriptures that speak of a literal seven day creation? Exodus 20″9-12, 31;15-7

    If the universe was created and left to go on for a long time, and God later made Adam and Eve then how does mark 10:6 fit in? “”But from the beginning of the creation ‘God made them male and female.’”” (Granted it could be argued what would mean “beginning”)

    Honestly my biggest concern with sciences view on the earth being old is that much of the evidence is claimed out of fossils that supposedly were around for far longer than we could even explain for Adam and Eve to be on the scene. Sciences views on the age of the earth would require us to then believe there was death before the fall in the garden.

    I hope my comment doesn’t come off to strong. Honestly I usually don;t go into these kinds of discussion, and I certainly do not lose sleep over it, but I do enjoy hearing where others come from on this issue. I personally hold to a young earth view even though I realize I don;t have all the answers.

    I hope you are doing well!

      1. Thank you for reading Fletcher. I welcome your feedback. please see my latest post as I wrote it keeping your points in mind.

        I appreciate the positive vibes, bro :p

        I realize that even I may not have all the answers, I hope to learn more. This topic is trivial when compared to the fact that we one in Christ. In apologetics however this changes somewhat. Anyway, good to have your thoughts on the subject :).

  6. Good post. I totally think a lot of people from both sides of the argument miss the key point you made.

    GOD DID IT! Regardless of how he did it. He did it. His time frame means nothing to us. If it was a literal week or billions of years. He did it. That is where I rest my faith and hope.

  7. Also look at the Sabbath and references to the Sabbath stating If God can do all this in a 6 day time frame and the 7 the day rest. Why do we need to work 7 days a week? Why does God command us to work 6 six days but keep the 7th holy?

  8. just a though I had now. we know God is not bound by time, and God created time.

    so

    was there a concept of a 24hr time before the Fall of Adam? were they enjoying God’s different time format? or their time was based on 24hr interval?

    and

    the 24hr time came after they were kick out of the garden?

I'd love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment. Thank you.

