A question about being rich, and Christian salvation

A question about being rich, and Christian salvation


A question I came across recently by an other Christian brother. Although not something new, I think its still an important one. Can a rich man go to heaven? What did Christ mean when he said, it is easier for the camel to pass through the needle’s eye than the rich to get into heaven? Have a look.

“Recently I had to endure a spew of interesting thoughts on my new career path and why i’m evil and going to hell because I hate the poor and love money. In YOUR opinion does making 6 figures make me a terrible person? I’ve always lived by ” If I love god more than my money and at all times Tithe I am not in danger”. But for about 3 hours I had pounded into my head that I need to make money save it, then give it all away and then “carry my cross” and live in poverty, so I can follow jesus correctly, or else I do not love jesus and I hate the poor. So obviously I’m a little distressed right now because I’ve just been told I cannot go to heaven If I make too much money, and also that working for an oil company is not serving god or carrying my cross and shows that it’s how I am not a true christian. So I guess my question is am a Evil person for seeking success?

I’m not going to lie I, chose the job for 4 reasons 1) I love The western states including north dakota 2) I love physical Labor 3) I like the Cold 4) The Pay
I’ve always wanted and felt called to make something of my self on my own and I feel like that’s what I’m doing, But am I denying jesus and not carrying my cross because I am making the choice to work hard and make living rather than live in poverty?”

Below is my response:

Wealth is not a problem of salvation. How you use your wealth is another issue entirely and that is between you and God. The issue is simple, you can not worship God and money at the same time, so whatever you make of your wealth, just let it not rule over you for that always leads to corruption. Rejoice for the good things God has given you, help those who you can and let your conscious be clear when you go to bed.

Let me tell you something, I saw a catholic priest here in my city, he has a big mansion, 4 cars, really rich guy. 30 feet away from his pearly shining gates there is a small cottage with a very poor family living there, two people died in that house with tuberculosis, one old woman died of starvation. The girl, one of the two people who died, was 26 years old at the time of her death and weighed only 40 pounds. The rich priest next door simply never cared. So much for “love your neighbor”, right. That is the point which one should not fall down to.

We are not only responsible for the things we did but also for the things we didn’t – those which we could have done.

10 thoughts on “A question about being rich, and Christian salvation

  1. It’s interesting that no matter what people’s situations are, someone will always find fault with them. If they are rich, they “love money and hate the poor.” If they are poor, they “must have committed some great sin, and God is punishing them.” I believe God blesses some Christians with wealth, so they can use that money to bring honor and glory to him. He blesses other Christians with life experiences, so they can be better equipped to help others through difficult situations. Every Christian has a place and a way to be a blessing in someone’s life. We just have to be willing to see it and use whatever resources we have to spread God’s love.

  2. It’s an interesting response, one that is definitely not rooted in any textual analysis of the scriptures in question. Fair enough, assuming that approach works for others as well. I do wonder if questions about sexuality will receive such a reasonable approach.

  3. Great Post! “We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; 7 if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; 8 if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully,” (Romans 12:6-8).

  4. Hi John,
    Thanks for coming over and visiting my blog.
    About this subject. I have a post budding in my head about this. I had a spiritual experience regarding the “rich” entering heaven. I am a US citizen and live a pretty comfortable existence so I guess I’m rich by the worlds’ standards. Anyway, I will put out this post pretty shortly and may call it “What is Rich – What is Not”. This will only be my OPINION. I don’t have a market on the truth.
    Love to You in Christ,
    robin claire

    ps – I’ve decided to follow yours. I think we have a lot in common. I’m a former Atheist. You can read about me on my “Who Am I?” Page. There are 3 other Pages at the top of my blog that contain the bones of my faith.
    rc

  5. Hi, Robin, I had the pleasure to read you blog yesterday. God bless you. I am happy to know that you are strong in Christ and walking with him. Being a former atheist, like you, i can understand what you went through.

    I am looking forward to that post of yours. God bless you.

  6. God always looks at intent and action. He knows the intent of our hearts and what we do about the needs of others that we can control. God does not expect to live in poverty when we work hard. We just need to give cheerfully, not necessarily to every thing and everybody.

    1. I agree, I think there may be times when we have to make an exception but I believe it is a rare occasion. But I do hope that people should give even when they have to go a little out of the way, if it truly helps the recipient.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment. Thank you.

