A Christian-Evolutionist’s odd position in faith.

A Christian-Evolutionist’s odd position in faith.


Some say it’s an oxymoron, but I am not sure. I do know I am one.

Creation is the hottest topic between the religious vs. atheist crowd. Science against faith stories. Evidence against faith. It’s a really a hot button for many. I have seen people become very personal and argumentative when it comes to creation. For some reason, this is the topic which carries a lot of emotional baggage with it. I have seen a lot of people behave offensively on this.

I have been a lot of things actually. I have been a devout YEC, an evolution basher, an enthusiastic Gap theorist, then a euphoric OEC and then a troubled Theistic evolutionist. And now I am more inclined to be just an evolutionist, and not so much troubled anymore. My transition has been across the board from atheist to agnostic to slightly deist to YEC to OEC and within that from Gap theory to Theistic Evolution. The more I studied, the more I figured that evolution was undeniable.

Apparently, a lot of believers don’t agree with me when it comes to that. I don’t blame them. It is not an easy thing to do. It took me some time to come to realize that there is probably no way that I may able to square things out between my faith and science, or between faith and evolution. That is my opinion, and some believers have no trouble reconciling science and creation, and I am fine with that.

However, my conclusion is that the biblical creation story quite certainly makes a strong case for a Young Earth timeline that is 6000-10,000 years give or take a thousand.

I respect the scriptures, and I think that it’s correct contextually when we look at it from a six-day creation perspective. There is literally no “merit” to say otherwise. It is my respect for those very scriptures that I don’t want to twist and distort them to fit scientific findings. The truth of the gospel is far more important than that and needs no validation from science.

But going back to the topic, a lot of believers think that the Hebrew word used in Genesis for a day – “Yom” could mean more than a single day, ages perhaps. And they are correct linguistically, however, quite wrong contextually. Without going into technicalities of “Yom”, I think there is no reasonable merit to thinking that “Yom” could mean anything else but a single day in that context.

Why?

Because:

  1. There was no concept of creation in longer ages back then.
  2. The later authors of scriptures kept referring to the six day creation period. Which shows how people thought of it back then.

I respect the OEC belief since I lean towards it. I know, that evidence shows that the earth is quite old, as in billions of years old. I see evolution and its evidence, and I think it’s remarkable.

But I do not know how to solve this problem. I can just try to accommodate one in the other, but I think it would be dishonest of me as it is not what I found to be true.

So between a YEC creation, and a modern science evolution stands yours truly with no idea about how to square this off.

Let me know your thoughts.

3 thoughts on “A Christian-Evolutionist’s odd position in faith.

  1. Hi John,

    I, too, believe that God created the universe but that He took a very long time to do it. How do I square that with the Scriptures I respect?

    Well, first off, I was trained as a physicist. As such I am very aware that there are only a relatively few people in the world today who truly understand the current theories. It is also well acknowledged that these theories are still incomplete and that the “whole” answer will likely involve mathematics and ideas we have yet to develop.

    That said, one must, I think, ask two questions: 1) How could God communicate to a nomadic, agrarian culture ideas even our best minds today would find hard to grasp, and 2) Why should He bother?

    The answer to the first is, basically, that He couldn’t. Not, at least, without turning the Bible into a full-length, multi-disciplinary science/math graduate course. The size of the Bible would then be huge–a real library! And who would actually read that and come to understand? Your average shepherd?

    As for the second, I think the fundamental issue is: What is God trying to communicate in these stories? Personally, I don’t think He is trying to satisfy our scientific curiosity. He wants to communicate certain truths, obviously, but what and does the story as given communicate them? I would say that it does, indeed, communicate the key truths: God created everything, He thinks it is very good, we were made to be in relationship with Him, and that relationship is broken.

    Does it matter that He communicates in a story, rather than a scientific paper? No, no more than the fact that Jesus made up stories to tell truth makes His ministry invalid.

    1. Having wrestled with this issue, too, I very much appreciate your view here, and hold to a similar one myself.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment. Thank you.

